Review: The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Book: The Book Thief
Author: Markus Zusak
Publisher: Black Swan
Release date: 2006
Page count: 584
Genres: Historical Fiction

This is the tale of the book thief, as narrated by Death. And when Death tells a story, you really want to listen.
It’s just a small story really, about, amongst other things:
A Girl
An Accordionist
Some Fanatical Germans
A Jewish Fist Fighter
And Quite A Lot Of thievery.

This book, this book, this book, I’ve started this post numerous times because I can not fathom my thoughts into a coherent sentence that will accurately describe my feelings. I’m going to be honest I did keep putting this book off because I didn’t think I would enjoy it and it was becoming a bookshelf benchwarmer but boy was I wrong. The plot focuses on Liesel a young girl who in the midst of a war is taken from her mother and sent to live with a foster family. After a tragic event early on in the book Liesel finds a book buried in the snow and with her foster father discovers all the power words have. Through a slow and painstaking process they gradually work through the book and Liesel realizes how a few small words can have a huge impact on those who hear them. Some of the scenes in the book such as the Jewish prisoners being forced to march through town were extremely difficult to read. Whilst this is a fictional retelling of a period in history, some of these horrific things in the novel did happen to real people. But I feel as though these scenes may have been the most important ones as they made the book struck a cord within me. I felt a sense of pride reading about those who defied the orders in order to protect others and showcase the best aspects of human nature in a time where so much darkness existed. This book made me really think about what it means to be human and is now one of my favorite books I have ever read. It was beautifully written and I know that the quotes and descriptions will stick with me for the rest of my life. I can not recommend it enough, if you haven’t read it yet then please go get a copy, I promise you won’t regret it.

20140424-211344.jpg

Leave a Reply

